Pathfinder in Palliative Care Award

The American Cancer Society Pathfinder in Palliative Care Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of a professional who has demonstrated remarkable innovation and ingenuity across a range of opportunities for actions that contributed to the advancement of the field of palliative care nationally and/or globally.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Pathfinder in Palliative Care Award. Download the nomination form. Nominations are due by May 31, 2019 If you have any questions, please contact Joseph Cotter, Research Constituent Engagement Manager, Extramural Research, via email: or by telephone: 404.329.5773.

Pathfinder in Palliative Care Award Recipients

2018 — Marie Bakitas, DNSc, CRNP, NP-C, AOCN, ACHPN, FAAN 

2017 — Jennifer Temel, MD 

2016 — Betty Ferrell, Ph.D., M.A., F.A.A.N., F.P.C.N.

2015 — R. Sean Morrison, MD

2014 — James A. Tulsky, MD

2013 — Joanne Wolfe, MD, MPH

2012 — Charles von Gunten, MD, PhD

2011 — Judy Lentz, RN

2010 — Anthony Back, MD

2009 — James Block, MD

Learn more about the American Cancer Society's research programs.